The Mouse And The Cat, by Maria DePaul

In a park, a mouse found himself stalked by a cat. He knew that he should have run away, but he decided to confront the cat.

“Why do you follow me?” the mouse asked the cat. “Your owner provides food, shelter and everything you need. Why plague me so?”

“I love the challenge,” the cat said. “Besides, it’s in my nature. If I didn’t hunt mice, birds and bugs, what else would I do?” The cat pounced, devouring the mouse.

“How else did he think it would end?” thought the cat to himself. “Silly mouse.”

Leave a Reply

