Let Me Live, by Raleigh Reeve

(F.F.F. Website Story)

Today I will fight, just as I have done the day before. I will raise my axe, ready my bow or steady my sword. I shall focus not on the overwhelming battlefield around me, but instead the single warrior mere steps from my weapon. We will clash iron, steel or fists, and I shall be victorious. He or she is dawned in armor; I have no need for it. My opponent fears death; I recognize that eventually it will come for me. But today is not that day. I parry their blow, swing my blade, and watch their head fly.

Leave a Reply

