Swimming in the Indian Ocean, by Guy Fletcher

(F.F.F. Website Story)

I’m swimming in the Indian Ocean with the one I love. It is night and we follow the silver path laid by the 0-shaped master of the seas. The stars are impossibly bright, the opposite of blurred city stars. We roll over warm waves and laugh into the velvet darkness.

“Oh, sorry.” I open my eyes.

“Watch where you’re going, mate!”

I have bumped into a burly man at Maindy swimming pool, crashing back to the reality asylum

I clamber out of the water, dress and venture into the cold Cardiff night…very far from the Indian Ocean.

Leave a Reply

