Glasnost, by James Revell

(F.F.F. Website Story)

During the post-mortem I again noticed the victim’s facial birth-mark, as two other police officers and I listened to the pathologist’s observations.

Eight hours earlier I had arrived on scene at the moon-lit road-side. In the ambulance, efforts to revive the man failed: a broken neck, they said at the hospital. I found no I.D., just a few quid and some cigarettes…. and a Russian watch.

Years later, I was watching a BBC documentary about political changes in Russia. Featured was a ten-minute story on the explosion at Chernobyl and the resulting panic, described by a Russian journalist I recognised…

Leave a Reply

