Nature’s Magic Trick In Broad Daylight, by Sankar Chatterjee

(F.F.F. Website Story)

While driving through the Rockies of Western Canada, I came upon a road-sign: “Lake Moraine area” ahead. I exited to arrive at a glacier-derived body of calm blue water surrounded by mountains. Previously I emptied a water bottle, so I dipped it, collecting a sample of water. Now the water appeared absolutely colorless! Then it hit me. Melted glaciers throughout the ages brought along minerals as nanoparticles deposited them at the bottom. Collectively, they absorb all seven colors of the sunlight, only reflecting back the blue color, thus the appearance. I wondered, “What a magic trick of nature in broad daylight?”

Leave a Reply

