The Perfect Moment, by Russell Conover

Personally, my story this week was inspired by my computer’s desktop background, which has a person looking forward above a prompt to write, ironically. My story also falls into the “I wish” category of life.

The Perfect Moment, by Russell Conover

I’m Blake, and I enjoy a good meal out now and then. Today I’m sitting in my favorite restaurant, eating and minding my own business, when I notice a woman staring at me. I ignore her, but when I return my gaze several times, she’s still gazing. Sighing, I stand up.

“Excuse me, ma’am. May I help you?”

She blinks. “Oh, I’m sorry. I was just waiting for the perfect moment to tell you.”

“Tell me what?”

“You’ve won the million-dollar lottery, and your check’s in the mail. Wanted to tell you A.S.A.P., before you arrive home!”

Leave a Reply

