Infidelity, by Bobby Warner

“I’ve something to tell you,” Lois said.

“What?” said Joe.

“I’ve had an affair. I don’t know how it happened, but it lasted five years. It’s over now. I’ve ended it. I don’t expect you to forgive and forget; that wouldn’t be fair to you. I’ll leave as soon as I can find a place to go.”

Joe reached for her. “We can work this out. Twenty-five years is a long time to throw away for one mistake. I’ll just have to learn to forgive and forget.”

Lois pulled away. “That’s the last thing I want you to do.”

Leave a Reply

