Romantic Fireworks, by Gordon Lawrie

“Hi there.”

“Hi. Weren’t you here last year?”

“Must have been someone that looked just like me. My name’s Roman.”

“Mine’s Catherine. Roman? That Polish?”

“Chinese, actually. Not long arrived in the country.”

“Me, too. Look, could you give me a little breathing space? I’m feeling rather pinned to the wall here.”

“Oh, sorry. Thoughtless of me.”

“Not your fault. This stranger came by, we started talking, then suddenly he was off like a rocket.”

“How rude.”

“Unlike you – you seem to have some sparkle. Have you got a light by any chance?”

“Sorry, I’m trying to give up smoking.”

Leave a Reply

