Luke’s Mother by Bobby Warner

Luke came into the kitchen and drew a glass of water.

“Where you been, Lukie?” his mother asked.

“Down to the river, Ma. Like you told me.”

“Oh, I forgot. Sent you after your pa, didn’t I?”

“Yes’um.”

“Well, where is he? I told you to bring him back. It’s near suppertime.”

“He wasn’t there, Ma. But you know where he is, don’t you?”

She looked bewildered; a tear ran down her cheek. “I forgot again, didn’t I? You’re pa’s been dead and in his grave for a year, hasn’t he? Oh, Luckie–how could I forget again so quick!”

Leave a Reply

